How to make a toddler to behave

Published September 16, 2014 by teacher dahl

deal

Each child is different, but sometimes, there are tricks that work better than others. Here are some discipline strategies other Pinay moms and I used that might work for you too.

1. Do not give in
My daughter could scream like a pig being slaughtered, but I would steadily chant in my head, “Be strong. Be strong. Be strong.” The moment she cried to get something, we took it away. We didn’t want her to equate the tantrum with getting her way.
Treena Ongking realized the same thing when her toddler Carlo would not pack away. She stopped doing it for him and told him he couldn’t take out more toys until his toys were stored. “It didn’t work at first,” she says. “I’d have to run and block Carlo from opening the cabinet. I encountered lots of tears. And there was a time when my husband came home from work to find wooden blocks and alphabet magnets all over. I told him that he shouldn’t pick up any of the toys because Carlo, by this time, had figured out that if he stalled long enough, his papa would end up tidying the mess.”

2. Distract your toddler
When Michelle Aujero-Trenfield’s daughter would misbehave, she tried to reason with her, but learned that it didn’t work. “So the strategy I employed was distraction,” she says. “She used to really enjoy pulling our beagle’s tail. So whenever she would do it, I would say ‘no’ in a stern voice and distract her with another activity like running around or playing ball. When she did have meltdowns, either her dad or I would just give her a cuddle and try and distract her.”

3. Save the talk for when they are calm
“In the heat of the moment, reasoning will not work,” says Tricel de Guzman. “Instead, I leave my daughter in her room for a moment, telling her that I will wait until she’s calm and ready. When she has calmed down, that’s the time I talk to her.”

4. Get away from the crowd
When your toddler is acting up, an audience will be your downfall. I learned early on that I needed to get away from the scene of the crime and take my toddler some place quiet where she could finish her tantrum in peace—away from judging eyes.

5. Model proper behavior
“I find that the best way to correct behavior is to model it to your child,” says Michelle. “My daughter says please and thank you a lot, but it always frustrated me that she never said (or wanted to say!) sorry. Then we realized that it was because we hardly said it. So my husband and I started saying sorry and before long, she started doing it as well.”

6. Be consistent
Tricel says no matter how tempting it is to “let this one slide,” the behavior you are trying to instill will not become a habit if your child thinks you aren’t serious about your rules. So grit your teeth and stay consistent!

7. Reward good behavior and give consequences for undesirable ones
“As we all know, toddlers take forever to eat,” says Mitzi Benares-Nguyen. “I eventually came up with this rule: No snacks for the rest of the day if you don’t finish your lunch, and for dinner, no prize. This prize is usually a small cookie or anything sweet (chocolates are not allowed at night). So far, so good. When they complain about not wanting to finish their food, I remind them of my rules, then they stuff their mouths with a big subo.”

8. Turn it into a game!
Packing away doesn’t have to be a chore. You can sing a pack away song or you can put a basketball hoop above a hamper or toy container and have them shoot their toys and clothes in. You just need a little more creativity, but in the end, you’ll be less stressed and will face less tears.

So, parents, what discipline strategies work for you?

from : Yahoo she

Leave a Reply

