How to Be a Happy Housewife

Published June 28, 2013 by teacher dahl

Image

If you want good things for your family, you need to begin by understanding just how important your happiness is to the rest of your household! And then you need to act on becoming that happy housewife!

How to be a Happy Housewife

1. Recognize that while you may not be employed outside of the home, you still have a “job.”

It’s true. Even if you don’t work outside the home, you have a great deal of responsibility, and we, as women, do quite a lot of work. I often say to my husband that he comes home from work every night, but my work never rests. Even at one in the morning I might be up rocking a sick child.

2. Do the housework.

Most of us can’t hire someone to do the housework for us. If you can, then good for you! But if you are like me, you need to go through the daily grind. Experience tells me that this gets easier the more you do it. Not because you have more experience, but because you will spend less time the tidier your house is.

You and your family deserve to have a nice place to relax at the end of the day. While your job might never end, you do have time to sit down and relax from time to time. Make sure that you can enjoy that time by keeping your house clean and tidy1

3. Plan your meals.

I am still learning about how to do this. Once I have it all figured out I will post another hub on the subject of menu planning. For me, this has been the most difficult part about being a housewife. I don’t enjoy cooking and I have a hard time planning what my family should eat as a result. I have discovered, however, that if you plan your meals carefully you will find that you save time, money and stress!

4. Keep a routine.

Nothing, and I mean nothing has changed my life like getting myself into a routine. When I wake up in the morning and make my bed, shower, fix my hair and makeup, and get dressed, I feel like a different human being. I am less stressed and am generally a happier person. I am also usually more productive if I am dressed and made up!

A routine provides much-needed structure and helps you to move from point A to point B more smoothly throughout your day!

5. Be good to yourself.

I have noticed that many stay at home moms in particular don’t take good care of themselves. I used to be one of those. Taking the time to shower and dress in the mornings makes a significant difference in the way that you feel about yourself, however. Makeup can do a lot for the way a girl feels!

6. Consider making an income (from home).

There are several ways that you can go about making an income from home, including selling on Ebay or writing here on Hubpages. Even if you don’t make a lot of money, you will give yourself a boost and a bit of pocket money that you might not otherwise have had!

7. Eat well.

This should go without saying but I know that for me, when I’m staying at home all day I can find any excuse to eat junk food. I’m an oddity: when I am eating in a restaurant I can absolutely order a salad and be happy with it, but at home I don’t tend to eat right. Be sure, too, that you are drinking plenty of water and staying hydrated!

8. Take some vitamins.

If you aren’t currently taking a multivitamin, now might be a good time to start. Organic vitamins are preferable and ensuring that you are getting a B-vitamin complex can be great for boosting the mood!

Leave a Reply

