How do you deal with a child that curses?

Published January 21, 2013 by teacher dahl

Image

As a parent, it usually takes us by surprise when our children use such language.
It’s not easy to ignore it, especially when it comes out of the blue.
So we get upset, or perhaps we laugh. it’s usually a matter of repeating things they’ve heard.
They are just learning to use language to communicate, so they mimic any word they can. They are not trying to hurt or offend anyone, they’re just developing verbal skills.

 

What about you? Can you share how do you deal with this situation?

 

3 comments on “How do you deal with a child that curses?

  • I simply ignore the cursing, but I don’t ignore their reasoning. There are reasons to why a child will curse you. There’s too much reasons to post as a comment, so it’s up to you, the parents, that must find out why your child is cursing you.

    In such scenario, I would simply ignore the curse, but not their reason. Instead, I don’t be selfish of my own thoughts, I listen to what they’re saying or trying to do. Obviously, if it’s against you, or for the sake of protection, then you have to do something. If it’s because of what you’ve done to your children in the pass, then you have to fix it.

    Like

  • Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Like

  • I simply want to say I am just newbie to weblog and really loved this page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with outstanding articles and reviews. Bless you for revealing your blog.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

