What Can you say about Made up Bedtime stories?

Published December 23, 2012 by teacher dahl

What Can you say about Made up Bedtime stories?

One of the best moments of the day is when you are tucking in your toddler into bed and telling him bedtime stories. It’s one of the most treasured moments of the day when you can snuggle up together, explore, go on an adventure, or be silly in your favorite bedtime story book.

Bedtime stories can also be made up.And, it can be challenging to think of homemade bedtime stories at the end of a long day, let me tell you! Thankfully, toddlers love repetition and I can perfect the same bedtime stories over and over or make small changes to them and he is happy. As he’s getting older, though, he’ll say “I want a bedtime story.” and I’ll say “What about?” and he’ll say “Make something up.” and he now means from scratch. It used to be things like “Lightning McQueen.”, or “Race cars.” But, they grow up and start wanting unique bedtime stories in order to drift off to sleep. Don’t get me started about the few times I started a story and it takes a somewhat “scary” turn (for a toddler) and I have to quickly eat my words.
Bedtime stories can be educational, too, without them even knowing it. I’ve told bedtime stories about saving your money, treating others nicely (or as you’d like to be treated), and being a good big brother. It is my belief that bedtime stories can be a really great way to bond with your child and snuggle at the same time, which we do every night. After our bedtime stories, we ask each other our favorite part of the day, so we end each day on a positive note. Many times, the very moments of cuddling and chit-chatting with my sons are my favorite part of the day. Since he goes first, it melts my heart when he says that moment is HIS favorite part of the day. Sigh. Love. Simply Love. And, after our bedtime stories and cuddling, I tell him good night and most nights he drifts off to sleep within 5 minutes after I leave (even nights he claims he’s not tired. Yeah. Right.).
But, if telling homemade bedtime stories isn’t a strength of yours, it’s great that other writers have done this work for us. Reading is so important for your child to learn the love of reading.

Leave a Reply

